Sihanoukville and Koh Rong Samloem

If you’ve been following this blog with great anticipation for the next post, I apologise  for the delay. “Miles around the world” didn’t quite make it around the world… and the trip was cut short. The good news is, I still have plenty of South East Asian destinations to finish blogging about. You’ll have to wait till my last post of this trip to find out exactly what happened.

Where was I? Travelling from Cambodia’s capital Phnom Penh southbound to the coast, specifically Sihanoukville, travelling in a bus, not on it like some…

Image

Sihanoukville is okay, it’s not amazing. There are a few decent restaurants around but I wouldn’t bother writing home about it. The beach there was really nice but compared to the island, Koh Rong Samloem, it looked like Blackpool in December…

Image

Image

There are some beach bars in Sihanoukville, but when we were there it was low season and we didn’t get a chance to go to them anyway. If you go to Sihanoukville and don’t visit a Cambodian island, you’ve absolutely wasted your time. Koh Rong Samloem, which we took a day trip to, is by far the most beautiful beach, and island that I have ever stepped a flip flop onto. There’s not much more I need to say, the pictures speak for themselves. One word of advice I’d give from my experience is to stay on the island, I didn’t realise quite how amazing and relaxing it would be. Accommodation on the island is naturally more expensive than the mainland but it is so worth it.

We booked onto a party boat, where there wasn’t much of a party going on (it was low season and full of not up for partying natives), nonetheless there was an open deck for sunbathing, a diving board, food, snorkeling and the trip to Koh Rong Samloem…travel 1191 travel 1194 travel 1196 travel 1197 travel 1199 travel 1201 travel 1217 travel 1222

There’s not much else left to say about these two places, just go.

Next stop, Siem Reap!

REPLY